Bill Summary

The Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order (Third Amendment) Bill, 2019

  • The Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order (Third Amendment) Bill, 2019 was introduced in Rajya Sabha on February 11, 2019 by the Minister of Tribal Affairs, Jual Oram. It was passed by Rajya Sabha on February 13, 2019.
  • The Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order, 1950 specifies the tribal communities which are deemed to be Scheduled Tribes. The Bill amends Part 18 of the Order which specifies the Scheduled Tribes in Arunachal Pradesh.
  • The Bill inserts 5 entries for granting Scheduled Tribe status to these communities. These are: (i) Galo, (ii) Mishmi-Kaman (Miju Mishmi), Idu (Mishmi), Taraon (Digaru, Mishmi), (iii) Monpa, Memba, Sartang, Sajolang (Miji) (iv) Nocte, Tangsa, Tutsa, Wancho, and (v) Tai Khamti.
  • The Bill removes reference to six tribes. These are: (i) Abor, (ii) Galong, (iii) Khampti, (iv) Mishmi (Idu, Taroon), (v) any Naga tribes, and and (vi) Momba.  


DISCLAIMER: This document is being furnished to you for your information.  You may choose to reproduce or redistribute this report for non-commercial purposes in part or in full to any other person with due acknowledgement of PRS Legislative Research (“PRS”).  The opinions expressed herein are entirely those of the author(s).  PRS makes every effort to use reliable and comprehensive information, but PRS does not represent that the contents of the report are accurate or complete.  PRS is an independent, not-for-profit group.  This document has been prepared without regard to the objectives or opinions of those who may receive it.