

The Andhra Pradesh Public Sevice Commission (Entrustment of additional functions with respect to the services of Universities) Act, 2017

Act 3 of 2018

Keyword(s):

Administrative and Ministerial Staff, APPSC, Written Test

DISCLAIMER: This document is being furnished to you for your information by PRS Legislative Research (PRS). The contents of this document have been obtained from sources PRS believes to be reliable. These contents have not been independently verified, and PRS makes no representation or warranty as to the accuracy, completeness or correctness. In some cases the Principal Act and/or Amendment Act may not be available. Principal Acts may or may not include subsequent amendments. For authoritative text, please contact the relevant state department concerned or refer to the latest government publication or the gazette notification. Any person using this material should take their own professional and legal advice before acting on any information contained in this document. PRS or any persons connected with it do not accept any liability arising from the use of this document. PRS or any persons connected with it shall not be in any way responsible for any loss, damage, or distress to any person on account of any action taken or not taken on the basis of this document.





ఆంధ్రప్రదేశ్ రాజపత్రము THE ANDHRA PRADESH GAZETTE

PART IV-B EXTRAORDINARY PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 3 AMARAVATI, TUESDAY, JANUARY 2, 2018.

ANDHRA PRADESH ACTS, ORDINANCES AND REGU LATIONS Etc.,

The following Act of the Andhra Pradesh Legislature received the assent of the Governor on the 28th December, 2017 and the said assent is hereby first published on the 2nd January, 2018 in the Andhra Pradesh Gazette for general information:

ACT No. 3 of 2018

ANACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE EXERCISE OF CERTAIN ADDITIONAL FUNCTIONS BY THE ANDHRA PRADESH PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION WITH RESPECT TO THE SERVICES OF THE UNIVERSITIES.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of State of Andhra Pradesh in the Sixty-eighth year of the Republic of India as follows:

Chapter - I

- 1. (1) This Act may be called the Andhra Pradesh Public Service Commission (Entrustment of additional functions with respect to the services of Universities) Act, 2017.

 Short title, Extent and Commencement.
 - (2) It extends the whole State of Andhra Pradesh.
 - (3) It shall come into force on such date as the State Government may, by notification, appoint.

Chapter - II

Definitions. 2. In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires:-

- (1) "Administrative and Ministerial Staff' means the non-teaching staff of the University other than Teachers of the University as defined in the respective Acts of the Universities specified in the Schedule;
- (2) "APPSC" means the Andhra Pradesh Public Service Commission constituted under Article 315 of the Constitution of India;
- (3) Executive Council/Board of Management/Executive Board means the Executive Council/Board of Management/Executive Board as defined in the Acts of Universities specified in the Schedule;
- (4) "Government" means the Government of Andhra Pradesh;
- (5) "Teachers of the University" means Teachers of the University as specified in the schedule;
- (6) "Written Test" includes descriptive type examination and/or objective type examination and/or computer based examination and/or interview/oral test/ personality test.

Chapter - III

Entrustment of additional functions to APPSC.

3. Notwithstanding anything contained in the Acts of Universities specified in the Schedule and the Statutes, Ordinances, Regulations and rules made there under, the Andhra Pradesh Public Service Commission shall conduct the Written Test, in addition to the minimum norms prescribed in the Acts of the respective Universities, for recruitment of Teachers and Administrative/Ministerial Staff of the University on the decision of the Executive Council/Board of Management/Executive Board of the University concerned by entering into a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the University concerned:

Provided that where same category of posts in the same subject are requisitioned for recruitment by different Universities, a common written test shall be conducted for all such posts.

Chapter-IV

Power to remove difficulties.

4. If any difficulty arises in giving effect to the provisions of this Act, the Government, may, by order, make such provision not inconsistent with the provisions of this Act as may appear to them necessary or expedient for removing the difficulty.

THE SCHEDULE

- (i) Andhra University (AU), Sri Venkateswara University(SVU), Sri Krishnadevaraya University (SKU), Acharya Nagarjuna University (ANU), Adikavi Nannayya University (AKNU), Yogi Vemana University (YVU), Dr. B.R. Arnbedkar University (Dr.BRAU), Krishna University (KrU), Vikrama Simhapuri University (VSU), Rayalaseema University (RU) established under Section 3 of the Andhra Pradesh Universities Act, 1991.
- (ii) Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University established under Section 3 of the Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University Act, 2008.
- (iii) Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences established under Section 3 of the Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences Act, 1986.
- (iv) Dr. YSR Horticultural University established under Section 3 of the Dr. YSR Horticultural University Act, 2007.
- (v) Dravidian University established under Section 3 of the Dravidian University Act, 1997.
- (vi) Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University at Ananthapuramu and Kakinada established under Section 3 of the Jawaharlal Nehru Technological Universities Act, 2008.
- (vii) Rajiv Gandhi University of Knowledge Technologies at Idupulapaya and Nuzvidu established under Section 3 of the Rajiv Gandhi University of Knowledge Technologies Act, 2008.
- (viii) Sri Padmavathi Mahila Viswavidyalayam established under Section 3 of Sri Padmavathi Mahila Viswavidyalayam Act, 1983.
- (ix) Sri Venkateswara Institute of Medical Sciences established under Section 3 of Sri Venkateswara Institute of Medical Sciences Act, 1995.
- (x) Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University established under Section 3 of Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University Act, 2005.
- (xi) Acharya N.G. Ranga Agricultural University established under Section 3 of the Acharya N.G. Ranga Agricultural University Act, 1963.
- (xii) Moulvi Abdul Haq Urdu University established under Section 3 of the Moulvi Abdul Haq Urdu University Act, 2016.
- (xiii) Sri Venkateswara Vedic University established under Section 3 of Sri Venkateswara Vedic University Act, 2006.

DUPPALA VENKATARAMANA,

Secretary to Government,
Legal and Legislative Affairs & Justice,
Law Department.