Bill Summary

The Central Universities Bill, 2008

- The Central Universities Bill, 2008, was introduced in the Lok Sabha on October 23, 2008. The Bill was referred to the Standing Committee on Human Resource Development (Chairperson: Shri Janardan Dwivedi), which submitted its report on December 17, 2008.
- The Bill seeks to establish central universities in Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan and Tamil Nadu. It also seeks to convert Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya in Chhattisgarh, Goa University in Goa, Doctor Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya in Madhya Pradesh and Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University in Uttarakhand into central universities.
- The objects of the university shall be to impart knowledge by providing instructional and research facilities in specified branches, to make special provisions for integrated courses in humanities, social sciences, science and technology, to establish linkages with industries for the promotion of science and technology.
- The university shall have the power to provide instructions in such branches as determined by it, to grant diplomas or degrees on basis of examinations, to confer honorary degrees, to provide facilities through distance education system, to institute and award fellowships, scholarships and prizes, to determine standards of admission to the

university, and to enforce discipline among students and employees.

- The President of India shall be the Visitor of the university. He has the power to review the work of the university and submit a report. The Visitor may, after obtaining the views of the Executive Council (principal executive body of the university) take such action as necessary and the university shall be obliged to follow.
- After calling upon the Registrar to show cause why such an action shall not be taken, the Visitor may annul any proceedings of the university which does not conform to the Act.
- The Bill lists the officers of the university as the Chancellor, the Vice-Chancellor, the Pro-Vice Chancellor, the Deans of Schools, the Registrar, the Finance Officer, the Controller of Examinations and the Librarian. The Chancellor and Vice Chancellor shall be appointed by the Visitor in the prescribed manner. Other officers shall be appointed in the manner as prescribed in the statutes.
- The authorities of the university include the Court, the Executive Council, the Academic Council, the Board of Studies, and the Finance Committee. The constitution of these authorities and terms of office of their members shall be as prescribed.
- The university is bound to follow such directions on questions of policy as the central government deems necessary in public interest.

DISCLAIMER: This document is being furnished to you for your information. You may choose to reproduce or redistribute this report for non-commercial purposes in part or in full to any other person with due acknowledgement of PRS Legislative Research ("PRS"). The opinions expressed herein are entirely those of the author(s). PRS makes every effort to use reliable and comprehensive information, but PRS does not represent that the contents of the report are accurate or complete. PRS is an independent, not-for-profit group. This document has been prepared without regard to the objectives or opinions of those who may receive it



Kaushiki Sanyal

kaushiki@prsindia.org

January 20, 2009