Petroleum and Natural Gas

The Indian Institute of Petroleum and Energy Bill, 2017 was introduced on July 18, 2017 by the Minister of State for Petroleum and Natural Gas, Mr. Dharmendra Pradhan in Lok Sabha. 

Institution of national importance:  The Bill establishes the Indian Institute of Petroleum and Energy, Vishakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh.  It declares the Institute as an institution of national importance.  The Institute aims to provide high quality education and research focussing on the themes of petroleum, hydrocarbons and energy.

Authorities of the Institute:  The key authorities of the Institute are as follows:  (i) the General Council; (ii) the Board of Governors; (iii) the Senate; and (iv) any other authorities declared by the statutes.

Composition and powers of the Board of Governors:  The Board of Governors will comprise 13 members including: (i) the President (to be appointed by the central government); (ii) the Director of the Institute; (iii) two persons from the Board of Directors of companies that contribute to the Institute’s endowment fund (to be nominated by the central government); (iv) five eminent experts in the field of petroleum technology and energy; and (v) two professors of the Institute.

Powers of the Board of Governors include: (i) instituting courses of study and laying down standards of proficiency and other academic distinctions; (ii) considering proposals for taking loans for the Institute; (iii) creating academic, administrative, technical and other posts; and (iv) fixing fees and other charges.

Composition and powers of the General Council:  The Council will comprise up to 20 members including the: (i) Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas (Chairman); (ii) Chairman, Indian Oil Corporation Limited; (iii) Secretary, Oil Industry Development Board; and (iv) Principal Advisor (Energy), NITI Aayog.

The powers of the Council include: (i) reviewing the broad policies and programmes of the Institute; (ii) advising the Board with respect to new technologies in the domain of energy and hydrocarbon development; and (iii) suggesting improvements in fiscal management of the Institute.

The Senate:  The Senate is the principal academic body responsible for the maintenance of standards of instruction, education and examination in the Institute.

Appointment of the Director:  The Director of the Institute will be appointed by the central government.  The Director will be the principal academic and executive officer of the Institute. 

Funding:  The Institute will be required to maintain a fund which will be credited with the funds that it receives from the central government, fees and money received from any other sources (grants and gifts).  The accounts of the Institute shall be audited by the Comptroller and Auditor- General of India.

Settlement of disputes:  Any dispute arising out of a contract between the Institute and any of its employees will be referred to an internally constituted Tribunal of Arbitration.  The Tribunal will consist of: (i) one member appointed by the Institute; (ii) one member nominated by the employee; and (iii) an umpire appointed by the Visitor (President of India).  The decision of the Tribunal of Arbitration will be considered final.

In case of any dispute between the Institute and the central government, the decision of the central government will be considered final.


DISCLAIMER: This document is being furnished to you for your information.  You may choose to reproduce or redistribute this report for non-commercial purposes in part or in full to any other person with due acknowledgement of PRS Legislative Research (“PRS”).  The opinions expressed herein are entirely those of the author(s).  PRS makes every effort to use reliable and comprehensive information, but PRS does not represent that the contents of the report are accurate or complete.  PRS is an independent, not-for-profit group.  This document has been prepared without regard to the objectives or opinions of those who may receive it.