Home Affairs
  • The Jammu and Kashmir Official Languages Bill, 2020 was introduced in Lok Sabha on September 22, 2020.  It seeks to declare certain languages as official languages of the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. 
  • Official languages:  The Bill declares Kashmiri, Dogri, Urdu, Hindi and English as the official languages to be used for the official purposes of the union territory, from such date as the Administrator of the union territory may notify.  The Bill adds that the business in the Legislative Assembly of the union territory will be transacted in these official languages. 
  • Use of English:  The Bill clarifies that English may continue to be used in the union territory for those administrative and legislative purposes for which it was being used before the commencement of the Act.  


DISCLAIMER: This document is being furnished to you for your information.  You may choose to reproduce or redistribute this report for non-commercial purposes in part or in full to any other person with due acknowledgement of PRS Legislative Research (“PRS”).  The opinions expressed herein are entirely those of the author(s).  PRS makes every effort to use reliable and comprehensive information, but PRS does not represent that the contents of the report are accurate or complete.  PRS is an independent, not-for-profit group.  This document has been prepared without regard to the objectives or opinions of those who may receive it.