• The National Highways Authority of India (Amendment) Bill, 2008 was introduced in the Lok Sabha on December 22, 2008. The Bill was referred to the Standing Committee on Transport, Tourism and Culture (Chairperson: Shri Sitaram Yechury), which submitted its report on February 16, 2009.
  • The Bill amends the National Highways Authority of India Act, 1988, which provides for the constitution of the National Highways Authority of India.
  • Keeping in view the increased mandate for the Authority, the Bill seeks to enhance the number of members in the Authority.
  • The Bills seeks to increase full time members to six from five. Part time members shall be increased to from four to a maximum of six members and a minimum of four members.
    The Bill stipulates that the central government shall ensure that at least two part time members are non-government professionals having knowledge or experience in financial management, transportation planning or other relevant discipline.