Human Resource Development
  • The National Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Bill, 2010 was introduced in the Lok Sabha on April 15, 2010.  The Bill was referred to the Standing Committee on Human Resource Development, which is scheduled to submit its report within two months.
  • The Bill amends the National Institutes of Technology Act, 2007, which declares certain institutions of technology as Institutions of National Importance and provides for instruction and research in these institutions.
  • The Act has a schedule of institutions declared as institutions of national importance.  The Bill adds another schedule to include five Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (established in Kolkata, Pune, Mohali, Bhopal and Thiruvananthapuram) as institutions of national importance.
  • The Bill specifies the members of the Board of Governors of each institute.  The members include Secretary, Department of Higher Education, Director of the Institute ex officio, Director of one of the Indian Institutes of Technology, and three Secretaries to the government of India.
  • A Council shall be established for all the Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research.  It shall consist of specified members including Minister in charge of technical education, Secretary of technical education, chairperson of every Board of the Institutes, and Chairman, University Grants Commission.