Youth Affairs
  • The Rajiv Gandhi National Institute of Youth Development Bill, 2011 was introduced in the Lok Sabha on December 21, 2011 by the Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Shri Ajay Maken.  It was referred to the Department related Standing Committee on Human Resource Development (Chairperson: Shri Oscar Fernandes), which is scheduled to submit its report by March 15, 2012.
  • The Bill seeks to declare the Rajiv Gandhi National Institute of Youth Development, Kanchipuram as an institution of national importance.  The existing institute at Sriperumbudur was set up in 1993 with the objective of undertaking advanced study in youth related activities.  In 2011, the report of the Mentor Group of the Ministry of Youth Affairs recommended the conversion of the existing institute into an institution of national importance.  Previous government reports had recommended that it be given the status of a National Youth University.
  • The objectives of the institute are to (a) evolve an integrated approach to youth development, (b) establish a National Youth Centre, (c) act as a nodal agency for capacity building of stakeholders, and (d) provide for higher education in the field of youth development through employment-oriented courses at the post-graduate level.  
  • The main functions of the institute include developing a “think tank” to carry out policy research and evaluate youth programmes, developing documentation and publication services for youth training, providing technical advice for youth training, and awarding degrees and diplomas at various academic levels.   
  • The institute shall admit persons of any gender, race, class or physical ability.  Students shall be admitted and teachers appointed without any conditions imposed based on their religious belief or profession.  
  • The President of India shall be the Visitor of the institute.  He may appoint any person to review the work of the institute and hold inquiries.  The Institute shall consist of (a) the Executive Council, (b) the Academic Council and (c) such other authorities as may be appointed. 
  • The Executive Council shall be composed of a Chairperson and Vice Chairperson (nominated by the Visitor), four ex-officio members (Secretary and Joint Secretary of Ministry of Youth Affairs, Joint Secretary and Financial Advisor of Ministry of Youth Affairs and Director of the institute) and four other members including a professor, an eminent sports personality, Head of an academic institution and one industry representative.  The Executive Council shall lay down policy related to courses, standards of proficiency and guide resource mobilization. 
  • The Academic Council shall be the principal academic body of the institute.  It shall be responsible for maintenance of standards of instruction, education and examination in the institute.  The Bill also establishes a Financial Committee to review the finances and scrutinize the accounts and budget estimates and make recommendations to the Executive Council. 
  • The institute shall maintain a fund in which all grants, fees and donations shall be credited.  The institute may also set up an endowment fund with Rs 100 crore to be maintained in the Public Account.
  • Any dispute between an employee and the institute shall be referred to a Tribunal of Arbitration which shall include a member nominated by the institute, one by the employee and an umpire by the Visitor.  The decision of the Tribunal shall be final and cannot be questioned in a court.  


Kaushiki Sanyal


March 06, 2012